Sprinkle Docs
Search…
πŸ”‘
Access Management
Access Management is the go-to place for all users, access, and permissions-related settings. It deals with the complete life-cycle of the users on the platform, from inviting users, adding them to groups, and configuring their roles and permissions to deactivation. Access Management lets the admin be in control of the users and their activities on the platform.
​
πŸ–±
Navigate to Admin -> Access Management.
It has three sections, Users, Groups, and Configure Access.

Users

This section provides an overview of all the users from the organization along with their type and status on the Sprinkle platform.
User Types
πŸ’‘
​
Viewer: Users who only have view permissions on the data entities in Sprinkle. Know more here.
Standard: Users who have permissions apart from the view permissions as a part of the groups they are assigned to.

Invite Users

Click on the Invite User button, to invite new users to Sprinkle. Provide the Email Id of the invitee and select the group to assign the new user to. Enable the bottom toggle switch to make the user a Viewer.
User Status
πŸ’‘
​
Invited: The users invited on the platform are added to the user list with their status as Invited until they onboard the platform.
Registered: Users who have successfully onboarded on the platform.
Inactive: Admins can deactivate users from the platform
Blocked: Users with more than 3 unsuccessful login attempts are Blocked to access the platform. Admins can unblock users using the Reset button in the Actions column.

Actions

Make User Viewer: Clicking on this icon corresponding to the user would make the user a viewer.
Reset Failed Login Attempts: After 3 unsuccessful login attempts by the user, this icon link gets activated. Admin can click on it to reset the failed login attempts count and the user can try logging in again.

More Options

Upload User Keys
πŸ—
: Admin can upload user keys and also set an expiration date. Bulk Invite: Through this feature, Admins can invite users to Sprinkle by uploading User details.
Bulk Invite
⬆
: Invite users in bulk by uploading files with user email.
Download Users
πŸ“₯
: The list of users currently on Sprinkle along with their status can also be downloaded as a CSV file.
User Actions: This feature enables the Admin to take automated actions. The two automated actions currently supported are, Deactivating the users, not in Azure AD and Email for Inactive Users.
  • Deactivate users not in Azure AD: When someone leaves your organization or is removed from Azure AD, those users can get deactivated on sprinkle automatically, using this feature. Read more here.
  • Email for Inactive Users
    βœ‰
    : Using this feature Admin can schedule emails to the Inactive users.

Groups

Managing, assigning & adjusting various permissions for a huge number of users can be a tedious task. Use groups to efficiently manage access of similar kinds of users.
To quickly get you started with managing the accessibility, Sprinkle has default groups created.

Default Groups

Administrator
πŸ›‘
​

Data Team
πŸ‘©πŸ’»
​
πŸ‘¨πŸ’»
​

Business Team
πŸ‘¨πŸ’Ό
​
πŸ‘©πŸ’Ό
​

Viewers
πŸ‘€
​

API_Access Grp
πŸ€–
​

To learn in detail about the Groups, visit the below page.

Configure Access

Folders
πŸ“‚
​

Folders can also be referred to as Spaces, these spaces may be user-specific, all folders or shared folders for a certain group of users. Managing access to reports for a group of users can also be done using the folders functionality. Read more about folders here.

User Attributes

User attributes let you manage the row-level access of the models. It lets you restrict users to access only the relevant part of the table. For example, you can restrict users in Karnataka to access the sales data only relevant to Karnataka from the sales table. Read more about User attributes here.

API Keys
πŸ”
​

Uploads
⬆
​

If there are a large number of users and their permissions are maintained within your own database, you can map those users and permissions in Sprinkle automatically. Sprinkle has an upload service, for uploading user keys and user attributes. If the user has user keys and/or user attributes in their data sources and these are frequently updated, then the user can make use of this service to schedule them. Read about the procedure to sync users here.
​